drone view of NC biotech building

NCBiotech Board of Directors

Board members share their global finance, executive, life sciences and academic experience to guide our activities. Better yet, they volunteer their time. Find out who these leaders are.

*Denotes executive committee member

Dr. Rebecca Alexander, Ph.D.
Professor of Chemistry
Associate Dean for Research and Community Engagement
Director of Wake Downtown

Wake Downtown

Mr. Peyton Anderson, M.B.A.
Affinergy, Inc

Dr. Anthony (Tony) Atala, M.D.
Director of Wake Forest Institute for Regenerative Medicine
Professor and Chair of Department of Urology

Wake Forest School of Medicine

Mr. John L. Atkins III, FAIA*
Chairman and CEO
O'Brien Atkins Associates, PA

Dr. Michelle Berrey, M.D.*

Mr. George B. Briggs
Executive Director
The North Carolina Arboretum

Mr. Santo (Sandy) Costa*
Board Chair
Former President and CEO
Smith Anderson Law

Mr. James (Jim) Datin
President and CEO
BioAgilytix Labs Inc.

Mr. Douglas Edgeton*
Assistant Secretary
President and CEO
North Carolina Biotechnology Center

Mr. Neal Fowler
Liquidia Technologies, Inc.

Ms. Meredith Friga*
Board Vice Chair and Treasurer 
Ernst & Young LLP (EY)

Ms. Kelly Fuller
NC Chamber Foundation

Dr. Penny Gordon-Larsen, Ph.D.
Carla Smith Chamblee Distinguished Professor of Global Nutrition 
Interim Vice Chancellor for Research

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Mr. Frank Grainger
Fair Products, Inc.

Mr. William (Bill) Hawkins III
Senior Advisor
Immucor, Inc.

Dr. Undi Hoffler, Ph.D.
Director, Research Compliance & Technology Transfer
North Carolina Central University

Dr. Daniel (Dan) Janies, Ph.D.
Carol Grotnes Belk Distinguished Professor of Bioinformatics and Genomics
University of North Carolina at Charlotte

Dr. Moise Khayrallah, Ph.D.
Emergo Therapeutics Inc.

Dr. Mary Klotman, M.D.
Duke University Medical Center

Ms. Karen LeVert*
Venture Partner
Pappas Capital, LLC

Dr. Jennifer Lodge, Ph.D.
Vice President for Research and Innovation
Duke University


Dr. Steven Lommel*
William Neal Reynolds Distinguished Professor 
Associate Dean for Research

College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
Director of the North Carolina Agricultural Research Service
North Carolina State University

Mr. Merrill Mason*
Smith Anderson Law

Ms. Sheila Mikhail
Founder and CEO
Asklepios Biopharmaceutical, Inc

Mr. Adam Monroe
Panaceutics Nutrition, Inc

Dr. Hernán Navarro
North Carolina Central University

Mr. Arthur M. (Art) Pappas*
Managing Partner
Pappas Ventures
Pappas Capital LLC

Ms. Joy Parr Drach*
President and CEO
Advanced Animal Diagnostics Inc.

Dr. Sharon Paynter
Acting Chief Research and Engagement Officer
East Carolina University

Mr. John Rabby*
Former Commercial Director
AgBiome Board Member

Secretary Machelle Baker Sanders
Secretary, Department of Commerce
State of North Carolina

Dr. Zito Sartarelli, Ph.D.
University of North Carolina Wilmington

Mr. Mike Tanner
Former Director
NOAA Center for Weather and Climate

Mr. Ben Teague
Vice President of Strategic Development
Biltmore Farms

Mr. Steve Troxler
Commissioner, Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
State of North Carolina

Dr. Bhaskar Venepalli, Ph.D., M.B.A., FRSC
President and CEO

Dr. Thomas Walker
Wayne Community College

Mr. Brad Wilson
Wilson Strategic Consulting, LLC

Dr. Ben Yerxa, Ph.D.
The Foundation Fighting Blindness


Board Staff:

Mr. John McTyeire
Counsel and Assistant Secretary
Parker, Poe, Adams and Bernstein L.L.P.

Ms. Paltine Braxton
Senior Executive Assistant to Doug Edgeton
North Carolina Biotechnology Center

scroll back to top of page