NCBiotech Board of Directors

Members of NCBiotech's board of directors volunteer their time and expertise to help guide the growth of life sciences in North Carolina. On behalf of the state, we thank them for their work.

*Denotes executive committee member

Dr. Rebecca Alexander, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Chemistry
Wake Forest University

Mr. Peyton Anderson, MBA
Affinergy Inc.

Dr. Anthony (Tony) Atala, M.D.
Director, Wake Forest Institute for Regenerative Medicine; Professor and Chair Department of Urology
Wake Forest Baptist Health

Mr. John L. Atkins III, FAIA*
Chairman and CEO
O'Brien/Atkins Associates PA

Dr. Michelle Berrey, M.D.*
President and CEO
Chimerix Inc.

Mr. George B. Briggs
Executive Director
The North Carolina Arboretum

Dr. Lawrence Carin, Ph.D.
Vice Provost for Research
Duke University

Mr. Tony Copeland
Secretary, Department of Commerce
State of North Carolina

Mr. James (Jim) Datin
President and CEO
BioAgilytix Labs Inc.

Dr. Richard H. Dean, M.D.*
Strategic Visioning for the 21st Century
Retired President and CEO
Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center

Mr. Douglas Edgeton*
Assistant Secretary and Assistant Treasurer
President and CEO
North Carolina Biotechnology Center

Mr. Neal Fowler
Liquidia Technologies Inc.

Ms. Meredith Friga*
Ernst & Young LLP

Dr. Jay Golden, Ph.D.
Vice Chancellor of Research, Economic Development, and Engagement
East Carolina University

Mr. Frank Grainger
Fair Products Inc.

Mr. William (Bill) Hawkins III
Senior Advisor
EW Healthcare Partners

Ms. Jennifer Haygood
Interim President
North Carolina Community College System (NCCCS)

Dr. Undi Hoffler, Ph.D.
Interim Vice Chancellor for the Division of Research and Economic Development
North Carolina Central University

The Honorable John Jackson Hunt
Emeritus Board Member

Mr. Jeff N. Hunter*
EVP and Chief Business Officer 
Novan Inc.

Dr. Moise Khayrallah, Ph.D.
Emergo Therapeutics Inc.

Dr. Mary Klotman, M.D.
Duke University School of Medicine

Ms. Karen LeVert
CEO and Co-Founder
Ag TechInventures LLC

Dr. Terri Lomax, Ph.D.
Executive Vice President, Discovery-Science-Technology
RTI International

Dr. Terry Magnuson, Ph.D.
Vice Chancellor, Research and Sarah Graham Kenan Professor of Genetics
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Mr. Adam Monroe
Americas President
Novozymes North America Inc.

Mr. Arthur M. Pappas*
Managing Partner
Pappas Ventures

Ms. Joy Parr Drach*
President & CEO
Advanced Animal Diagnostics Inc.

Mr. Joshua L. Price
Patent Attorney
Novozymes North America Inc.

Mr. John C. Rabby*
Commercial Director, AgBiome Innovations
AgBiome Inc.

Dr. Alan Rebar, Ph.D.
Vice Chancellor for Research, Innovation and Economic Development
NC State University

Mr. Gerald F. Roach*
Smith, Anderson, Blount, Dorsett, Mitchell & Jernigan LLP

Mr. Sergi Roura
President North America Facilities
Grifols Inc.

Dr. Jose (Zito) Sartarelli, Ph.D.
University of North Carolina Wilmington

Ms. Margaret Spellings
University of North Carolina General Administration

Mr. Michael Tanner
NOAA Center for Weather and Climate

Mr. Steve Troxler
North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services

Dr. Bhaskar R. Venepalli, Ph.D., MBA, FRSC
President and CEO

Dr. Robert G. Wilhelm, Ph.D.
Vice Chancellor, Research & Economic Development;
Executive Director, Charlotte Research Institute;
Professor, Mechanical Engineering & Engineering Science

The University of North Carolina at Charlotte

Dr. Benjamin R. Yerxa, Ph.D.
Foundation Fighting Blindness


Board Staff:


Mr. William Pappas
Counsel and Assistant Secretary
Parker, Poe, Adams and Bernstein L.L.P.

Ms. Judy Orchard
Senior Executive Assistant
North Carolina Biotechnology Center