BTEC, NCBiotech receive Economic Development Partnership Award

BTEC, along with the North Carolina Biotechnology Center, recently received the Economic Development Partnership Award at North Carolina State University’s Office of Outreach and Engagement annual awards ceremony. The ceremony, which was held April 29 at the university’s Dorothy and Roy Park Alumni Center, honors the commitment of NC State faculty and staff to fulfilling NC State’s land-grant mission alongside community partners.

BTEC was nominated for the award by Tom White, director of the Economic Development Partnership (EDP), which is part of the university’s Office of External Affairs, Partnerships and Economic Development. According to White, the Economic Development Partnership Award “is bestowed upon those who go above and beyond in support of the NC State EDP team effort to support statewide efforts in economic, workforce and community development.”

NCBiotech winners
NCBiotech received a 2024 Economic Development Partnership Award at the April 29 ceremony. 
Shown (l-r) are Ruben Carbonell, BTEC; and Laura Rowley, Sara Imhof and Bill Bullock from NCBiotech.

Accepting the award on behalf of BTEC were Gary Gilleskie, BTEC executive director; Bala Rao, director of Academic Programs; and Jennifer Pancorbo, director of Industry Programs and Research. Presenting the award were Tom White and Ruben Carbonell, who is the Frank Hawkins Kenan Distinguished Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, director of the Kenan Institute for Engineering, Technology & Science, and a former executive director of BTEC.

From NCBiotech, accepting the award were Bill Bullock, senior vice president, Economic Development and Statewide Operations; Sara Imhof, vice president, Focused Initiative Team; and Laura Rowley, vice president, Life Science Economic Development.

Other awards presented during the ceremony included the Outstanding Extension Award and the Outstanding Engagement Award, the William L. Turner Award for Outstanding Contribution to Extension and Continuing Education, the W.K. Kellogg Foundation Community Engagement Scholarship Award, the Aris Enduring Achievement Award, and the Opal Mann Green Engagement and Scholarship Award.

Editor's Note: This story was originally published on May 7, 2024, by BTEC.

scroll back to top of page