Skip to main content

North Carolina Microbiome Consortium

Mission and Goals

The North Carolina Microbiome Consortium provides the opportunity for interested and committed participants in academia, industry and the public to seek and share knowledge concerning the science of the microbiome. It seeks to foster interdisciplinary connections among scientists in diverse fields who share a common interest in microbial communities and with those who develop the tools needed to study and understand these communities. By coming together in this common pursuit of knowledge and the exchange of ideas, participants acknowledge the depth of local expertise; seek to establish North Carolina as a recognized leader in microbiome research and innovation, and aim to create greater opportunities for microbiome research and related industries in the state.


Membership Guidelines

Faculty, students, postdocs and industry members with interest in the Microbiome are welcome.


Coming Events

The NC Microbiome Consortium will host its inaugural event on May 15, 2017 at the North Carolina Biotechnology Center.  This will be a full day event featuring distinguished speakers from industry, academia and government, a student poster session, and ample networking opportunities.

NC Microbiome Consortium Meeting Agenda

Click here to view the full meeting progam

8:30 to 9:30 a.m.

Registration and Morning Refreshments

9 to 10:30 a.m.        

Session 1 "From Academia to Industry"

Dr. Rodolphe Barrangou, associate professor and Todd R. Klaenhammer Distinguished Scholar in Probiotics Research in Food Science, Department of Food, Bioprocessing, and Nutrition Sciences, NCSU

Dr. Matthew Redinbo, Kenan Distinguished Professor, Chemistry, Biochemistry and Microbiology, UNC

Dr. Mike Lynch, assistant professor in the Department of Biomedical Engineering and Chemistry, Duke University

Panel discussion 

10:30 to 11 a.m. Coffee Break
11 to noon

Session 2 "Federal Regulation of Microbiome Products"

Dr. Paul Carlson, principal investigator, FDA

Dr. Jack Okamuro, national program leader, USDA ARS

Noon to  1:30 p.m. Lunch
1:30 to 2:30 p.m.

Poster Session and Networking

*Coffee and snacks will be served

2:30 to 4:20 p.m.

Session 3 - Industry lightning round

Dr. Jill Stevenson-Paulik, R&D project leader, AgBiome

Dr. Jongmin Baek, group leader, computational life science, Bayer CropScience 

Dr. Leah Blasiak, senior scientist, Novozymes 

Dr. Maggie Wagner, NSF plant genome postdoctoral research fellow, BASF

Dr. Rick DeRose, global expert, technology acquisition, Syngenta

Dr. Priya Ramamoorthy, study director academic, project management, Metabolon

Dr. Ben Scruggs, analyst, Hatteras Venture Partners

Panel discussion 

4:20 p.m. Closing and Adjourn

*Student poster submissions will be accepted on a first come, first served basis.  Anyone wishing to participate in the poster session must submit a title and abstract to Hannah Cole, at, by May 5th, 2017.  All topics must be Microbiome related, please contact us directly with any questions regarding eligibility.