Skip to main content

Advisory Committee

 Advisory Committee Executive Committee

  • CHAIR: Jack H. Britt, Ph.D., Principal, Jack H. Britt Consulting, Etowah
  • George B. Briggs, FASLA, Executive Director, The North Carolina Arboretum, Asheville
  • Bill Bullock, Sr. VP, Statewide Operations & Economic Development, North Carolina Biotechnology Center
  • Mark R. Burrows, Director, Transylvania County Planning and Development, Brevard
  • Anthony G. Calamai, Ph.D., Dean of College of Arts and Sciences, Appalachian State University, Boone
  • John F.A.V. Cecil, President, Biltmore Farms, Asheville
  • Mark Phillips, VP, Statewide Operations, North Carolina Biotechnology Center
  • Jonathan Snover, Ph.D., Executive Director, Western Office, North Carolina Biotechnology Center

Advisory Committee Members:

  • Hyonho Baek, Ph.D.,Vice President Business Development, Bent Creek Institute, Asheville
  • Robert B. Carton, Ph.D., College of Business, Western Carolina University, Cullowhee
  • Seth Cohen, Ph.D., Director, Fermentation Science Program, Appalachian State University, Boone
  • Lynn Dressler, Director of Personalized Medicine, Mission Personalized Medicine Program, Mission Healthcare, Asheville
  • Michael Hickey, President and CEO, f(x) Immune, Asheville
  • Jeffrey M. Hinshaw, Ph.D., Professor, Department of Applied Ecology, NCSU Mountain Horticulture Crops Research and Extension Center, Mills River
  • Thomas E. Meigs, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Biology, University of North Carolina at Asheville
  • Sean O'Connell, Ph.D., Department Head, Biology, Western Carolina University, Cullowhee
  • Paul V. Phibbs, Jr., Ph.D., retired, Emeritus Professor of Microbiology & Immunology, East Carolina University, Asheville
  • Richard Pigossi, Founder & Chairman, Pegasus Capital, Asheville
  • Matt Raker, Director of Community Investment and Impact, Mountain Bizworks, Asheville
  • Steven W. Seagle, Ph.D., Professor, Biology, Appalachian State University, Boone
  • Alan C. Utter, Ph.D., M.P.H., FACSM, Interim Vice Provost for Research, Appalachian State University